PilotsEYE.tv

San Francisco

The very first flight of PilotsEYE.tv

Flight description

This episode marks the beginning of a success story of documentaries from the cockpit of airliners. Never before had it been possible to look over the shoulders of airline pilots during an entire flight. To this day, Jürgen Raps is considered the pioneer of a series of films that have helped many young people in their career choices.

In terms of film technology, this film was made with the first – in Sept 2005 – available HD cameras, which at that time still recorded in HDV, i.e. “near HD”. The lower sharpness and color fidelity, as well as the stillness of the recording, demonstrate the cautious approach to a type of documentary that was unknown at the time.

Camera in the tail 

75.30m long, 13,900km range and maximum take-off weight of 368 tons. The A340-600 was expected to eclipse the early versions of the 747, i.e. -100, -200 and -300, on its maiden flight in 2001. Because of its considerable length, the aircraft did not come without a tail camera to help the pilot maneuver on the ground. What is now standard in every passenger aircraft was for Captain Jürgen Raps in 2005 one of the most modern aircraft of its time.

Highly concentrated over the “two six right 

While the cockpit crew waits for the “take-off clearance,” you can literally feel the concentration that prevails in the cockpit during this phase of the flight. As soon as the tower controller has given the wind direction and power, Captain Raps starts the four Rolls-Royce Trent 500 engines with 250kN thrust each. With a long right turn in the “initial climb” from the Munich 26R, the A340 passes over Raps’ home Bayreuth before setting course for Scandinavia and Iceland! Excellent views of Greenland’s glaciers and eternal ice world included!

Barely flying nine hours, you’re already there

says the first officer on this flight. It is Sascha Unterbarnscheidt who is now in control of the A340 as it enters the USA. While some forest fires are raging in the forests around Vancouver after the dry summer, the two pilots are still trying to optimize the flight in the last 2 hours, to avoid turbulence and to arrive with as little fuel and time as possible.

Passion Pilot 

Even veteran pilots can’t help but say “it’s cool” when approaching San Francisco on such a beautiful autumn day under a cloudless sky in the evening sun. In this episode, it is senior first officer Susanne Parusel in particular who is captivated by the views over Greenland, the Rocky Mountains, and above all, the Golden Gate Bridge, and who absolutely makes people want to become pilots. As a “cherry on top” there is finally a visual approach to the 28R in SFO.

A big thank you! 

The era of PilotsEye takes its course from now on! Captain Jürgen Raps, who remains faithful to PilotsEye, deserves thanks for giving PilotsEye a chance!

This film is only available on DVD due to the format uncertainties of the time.
However, the HD version can be accessed in the video store.

DVD:   ISBN 9783940358011    EAN 4260139480012    ASIN B000U5NA1Q

HD-Version via Video-On-Demand, only.

Flight data & Crew

  • Flight no.: LH458
  • Aircraft: Airbus A340-600
  • Run time: 52 min
  • Chief Pilot & Captain |
    Jürgen Raps
  • Sen first Officer |
    Susanne Parusel
  • Sen first Officer |
    Sascha Unterbarnscheidt

Shop

Subtitles

EN

Highlights

  • The first episode of the series from Munich to San Francisco with captain Jürgen Raps (who returns on sequel No.12)
  • Original crew communication
  • ETACS tail camera
  • Airbus A340-600
  • Cross-traffic
  • Golden Gate fogles
  • Subtitles in English
  • Forest-fires north of Vancouver
  • Close view of sidestick and instruments

Images

Images

PilotsEYE.tv

San Francisco A340

The very first adventure of PilotsEYE.tv

Flugbeschreibung

Diese Episode markiert den Beginn einer Erfolgsgeschichte von Dokumentationen aus dem Cockpit von Linienflugzeugen. Noch nie zuvor war es möglich, den Linienpiloten während eines gesamten Fluges über die Schulter zu schauen. Jürgen Raps gilt bis heute als Wegbereiter einer Serie von Filmen, die vielen jungen Menschen bei ihrer Berufsauswahl geholfen haben.

Filmtechnisch ist dieser Film mit den ersten – im Sept 2005 – verfügbaren HD Kameras entstanden, die damals noch in HDV, also „near HD“ aufgezeichnet haben. Die geringere Schärfe und Farbtreue sowie die Stille der Aufzeichnung demonstrieren die behutsame Annäherung an eine damals noch unbekannte Art von Dokumentationen.

Kamera im Heck 

75,30m Länge, 13.900km Reichweite und ein maximales Abfluggewicht von 368 Tonnen. Der A340-600 sollte bei seinem Erstflug 2001 die frühen Versionen der 747, sprich -100, -200 und -300 in den Schatten stellen. Aufgrund der beachtlichen Länge kam das Flugzeug nicht ohne Heckkamera aus, die dem Piloten beim Rangieren am Boden helfen soll. Was heute in jedem Passagierflugzeug Standard ist, war für Kapitän Jürgen Raps 2005 eines der modernsten Flugzeuge seiner Zeit. 

Hochkonzentriert über die zwo sechs rechts 

Während die Cockpitbesatzung auf die „take off clearance“ wartet, spürt man die Konzentration förmlich, die in dieser Flugphase im Cockpit vorherrscht. Kaum hat der Towerlotse Wind- Richtung und Stärke durchgegeben, lässt Kapitän Raps die 4 Rolls-Royce Trent 500 Triebwerke mit je 250kN Schub aufheulen. Mit einer langen Rechtskurve im „initial climb“ von der Münchener 26R geht es über Raps’ Heimat Bayreuth bevor der A340 Kurs Richtung Skandinavien und Island aufnimmt! Hervorragende Sicht auf die Gletscher und ewige Eiswelt Grönlands included! 

„Fliegst de 9 Stunden, schon biste da“ 

so der erste Offizier auf diesem Flug. Es ist Sascha Unterbarnscheidt der nun beim Einflug in die USA die Kontrolle über den A340 hat. Während in den Wäldern um Vancouver nach dem trockenen Sommer einige Waldbrände wüten, versuchen die beiden Piloten auf den letzten 2h noch den Flug zu optimieren, Turbulenzen zu vermeiden und möglichst sprit- und zeitsparend anzukommen. 

Leidenschaft Pilot 

Auch alteingesessene Piloten lassen sich ein “schon cool” nicht verkneifen, wenn man an solch einem wundervollen Herbsttag bei wolkenlosem Himmel in der Abendsonne auf San Francisco anfliegt. In dieser Folge ist es besonders Senior first officer Susanne Parusel die sich von den Aussichten über Grönland, den Rocky Mountains und vor allem der Golden Gate Bridge in den Bann ziehen lässt und absolut Lust auf den Beruf Pilot macht. Als “cherry on top” gibt es abschließend einen visual approach auf die 28R in SFO. 

Ein Dankeschön! 

Die Ära von PilotsEye nimmt ab jetzt seinen Lauf! Kapitän Jürgen Raps, der auch im weiteren PilotsEye treu bleibt, gebührt der Dank der Vision PilotsEye eine Chance gegeben zu haben! 

Dieser Film aufgrund der damaligen Format-Unsicherheiten nur auf DVD erhältlich.
Die HD Version kann jedoch in der Videothek abgerufen werden.

DVD:   ISBN 9783940358011    EAN 4260139480012    ASIN B000U5NA1Q

Flugdaten & Crew

  • Flug-Nr.: LH 458
  • Flugzeug: Airbus A340-600
  • Laufzeit: 52 min
  • Chief Pilot & Captain |
    Jürgen Raps
  • Sen first Officer |
    Susanne Parusel
  • First Officer |
    Sascha Unterbarnscheidt

Shop

Untertitel

DE, EN

Highlights

  • Die erste Folge der Serie von München nach San Francisco mit Chefpilot Jürgen Raps
  • Original Funkverkehr und Gespräche
  • Waldbrände nördlich von Vancouver
  • Blick auf Sidestick und Instrumente
  • Querverkehr 300 Meter unter uns
  • Blick aus der Tailkamera im Flug
  • Grönland mit Blick ins ewige Eis
  • Untertitel: Deutsch und Englisch
  • Golden Gate wolkenlos
  • Airbus A340-600

Bilder

Bilder