PilotsEYE.tv

Tokyo

Runway Chicken

Flight description

On Austrian wings to the Land of the Rising Sun

Perfect weather, average temperatures and a cheerful crew – that’s how PilotsEYE.tv takes off this time from runway 34 of the Vienna airport VIE. For the first time, a takeoff of a PilotsEYE.tv flight is shown from three perspectives – from the cockpit, from a witness’ point of view next to the airstrip, and from the tower. A couple of minutes after takeoff Captain Fritz Strahammer, AUA chief pilot and his co-pilots Tarek Siddiqui and Josef Trattner will change from the Vienna air space to Bratislava Control. The manoeuvre to another air space will be repeated a couple of times until the Boeing lands in Tokyo – however always with different dialects. It’s a dream flight: calm weather and an amazing sun rise as it can only be seen over the clouds. A highlight that makes astonishing impressions possible, is a coincidental rendezvous over the Russian Taiga with a Lufthansa 747-400, which flies very close underneath the 777. This is one of the spectacular PilotsEYE.tv moments which contributes to the success of the series.

A sight into the captain’s office

During the flight, Captain Strahammer lets the viewer in on the basics of the Boeing 777 cockpit. What is the function of the left and right display, which buttons does a pilot need most? Why does the altimeter automatically show the height of the plane also in “meters” rather than “feet”, which is the more customary aviation measurement?

Exact visualisation with ‘Moving GPS-Tracks’

For the first time “Moving GPS-Tracks” are used in a PilotsEYE.tv-episode: To visualise the position and the covered distance even better and to make it more comprehensible, this technique which uses Google Earth to follow the flight route, will be used regularly from now on.

Impressions from Tokyo’s neon and glittering world

The land excursion on the day of rest before flying back is practically a PilotsEYE.tv classic. Captain Strahammer does not hide his passion for Asia and declares himself a tour guide. He shows how close tradition and modernity are side by side in Japan and takes the viewer to one of the most famous landmarks, the Tokyo Tower. From the highest platform one gets a 360 degree view of the skyline to the Zojoji temple next of the Japanese Eiffel tower. With a stroll through the blazing neon streets of Tokyo, this Far Eastern trip comes to an impressive conclusion.

Preview to the next PilotsEYE.tv episodes:

Even in a serious business as aviation, there is plenty to laugh at: the best outtakes, the funniest slips of the tongue, are shown at the end of the Tokyo flight. To whet the viewer’s appetite, the trailer for the next PilotsEYE.tv flight to Seattle (A330) can be seen. A glimpse offstage at the Boeing and the features of the new 747-8 together with the second in command Lufthansa Captain Frank Lunemann are tantalizing previews to PilotsEYE.tv next episode.

DVD:   ISBN 9783940358059    EAN 4260139480050    ASIN B001U8F1VO
Blu-ray:   ISBN 9783940358158    EAN 4260139480159    ASIN B001U8F1W8

Flight data & Crew

  • Flight no.: OS 51/52
  • Aircraft: Boeing 777-200ER
  • Run time: ca. 90 min
  • Captain |
    Fritz Strahammer
  • First Officer |
    Josef Trattner
  • First Officer |
    Tarek Siddiqui

Shop

Subtitles

DE, EN

Highlights

  • Breathtaking air to air shots
  • Jeppesen Flightmaps and GPS tracking
  • Pilots office made simple
  • Bonus: Tokyo-tour with the crew
  • Computer aided checklist explained
  • English subtitles for German conversation

Images

Images

PilotsEYE.tv

Tokio B777

Runway chicken

Flugbeschreibung

Mit Austrian ins Land des Lächelns

Ideales Wetter, mittlere Temperaturen und eine gut gelaunte Crew – so startet PilotsEYE.tv diesmal von der Runway 34 des Wiener Flughafens VIE. Erstmalig wird ein Start eines PilotsEYE.tv-Fluges aus drei Perspektiven gezeigt – aus dem Cockpit heraus, als Beobachter neben der Landebahn und aus dem Tower. Bereits wenige Minuten nach dem Start werden Austrian Chefpilot und Kapitän Fritz Strahammer und seine Kopiloten Tarek Siddiqui und Josef Trattner vom Wiener Luftraum an Bratislava Control weitergegeben. Das Manöver der Weitergabe in den nächsten Luftraum wiederholt sich unentwegt bis zur Landung in Tokio – aber immer mit anderen sprachlichen Akzenten. Es ist ein Traumflug: ruhiges Wetter und ein Sonnenaufgang, wie man ihn nur über den Wolken erlebt. Höhepunkt dieser Episode ist ein zufälliges Rendezvous über der russischen Taiga mit einer 747-400 der Lufthansa, die so nahe unter der 777 fliegt, daß sagenhaft schöne Aufnahmen eingefangen werden konnten.

Ein Blick ins Büro des Kapitäns

Während des Fluges weiht Kapitän Strahammer die Zuschauer in die Grundlagen des Cockpits der Boeing 777 ein. Wozu dienen linkes und rechtes Display, welche Schalter braucht der Pilot am häufigsten? Warum zeigt der Höhenmesser automatisch neben der im Flugverkehr üblichen „Fuß“, auch die Höhe in „Meter“ an?

Genauere Visualisierung mit „Moving GPS-Tracks“

Erstmals kommen bei einer PilotsEYE.tv-Folge „Moving GPS-Tracks“ zum Einsatz: Um die Position und die geflogene Route noch besser zu visualisieren und verständlicher zu machen, wird diese Technik, die sich mit Hilfe von Google Earth der Flugroute nachbewegt, künftig regelmäßig zu sehen sein.

Eindrücke aus Tokios Neon-und Glitzerwelt

Schon fast ein PilotsEYE.tv-Klassiker: der „Landausflug“ am Ruhetag zwischen Hin- und Rückflug. Kapitän Strahammer macht aus seiner Asien-Begeisterung kein Hehl und sich selbst zum Tour-Guide. Er zeigt, wie dicht Tradition und Moderne in Japan beieinanderliegen und nimmt uns mit auf eines der bekanntesten Wahrzeichen, den 333 Meter hohen Tokyo Tower. Vom „Special Observatory“ auf 250 Meter erhält man einen 360Grad Blick über die Skyline bis hin zu dem Zojoji-Tempel am Fuße des japanischen Eiffelturmes. Mit einem Bummel durch die gleißende Neonnacht von Tokio endet dieser fernöstliche Ausflug.

Preview auf die nächsten PilotsEYE-tv-Folgen

Auch in einem so seriösen Geschäft wie der Fliegerei gibt es jede Menge zu lachen: die besten Outtakes, die lustigsten Versprecher, finden sich am Ende des Tokio-Fluges. Um dem Zuschauer noch mehr Appetit zu machen, gibt es den Trailer für den nächsten PilotsEYE.tv-Flug nach Seattle (A330), wo gemeinsam mit dem stellv. Lufthansa-Chefpilot Frank Lunemann ein Blick hinter die Kulissen von Boeing- und auf die Features der neuen 747-8 geworfen wird.

DVD:   ISBN 9783940358059    EAN 4260139480050    ASIN B001U8F1VO
Blu-ray:   ISBN 9783940358158    EAN 4260139480159    ASIN B001U8F1W8

Flugdaten & Crew

  • Flug-Nr.: OS 51/52
  • Flugzeug: Boeing 777-200ER
  • Laufzeit: ca. 90 min
  • Captain |
    Fritz Strahammer
  • First Officer |
    Josef Trattner
  • First Officer |
    Tarek Siddiqui

Shop

Untertitel

DE

Highlights

  • Perfekter Blick auf Flugzeuge neben uns
  • Original Fliegerkarten und GPS Tracks
  • Boeing Cockpit erklärt
  • Tokio Impressionen mit Tower-Besuch
  • Automatische Checklisten erklärt
  • Dt. Untertitel erklären engl. Kommandos

Bilder

Bilder