Hurghada B737

Good Bye, Boeing! - Phased out

Flight description

PilotsEYE.tv Episode 17 “Goodbye, Boeing” accompanies one of the last airberlin Boeing 737 flights from Munich to Egypt’s Red Sea Coast

She’s the most produced commercial airplane in the world: the legendary Boeing 737. Since her inaugural flight in 1967, over 9000 models have left the assembly line, taking countless passengers up into the skies. But in several German airlines, the venerated 737 is looking at her well-deserved retirement.

Before the end of the year, airberlin will have finished their gradual, two year-long phase-out of their complete Boeing fleet and, for economical reasons, operate exclusively with Airbus planes from then on. PilotsEYE.tv had the opportunity to join one of the last active 737s on her trip to sunny Egypt.

For the very first time featuring commentary by both pilots, Episode 17 offers viewers the chance to experience a complete round-trip from Bavaria‘s Munich to the Red Sea’s premiere bathing resort, right from the best seat on the plane – including both technical and personal histories.

A not insignificant challenge for the filmmakers, as the 737’s comparatively small cockpit is the smallest space they have ever shot with 10 cameras simultaneously.

A professional goodbye

Befitting the occasion, pilots Cpt. Florian Deiters and FO Michail Tounas meet the night before at the Munich hangar for a final look at “their” 737-800NG, up close and personal. Featuring many technical details from resident 737-expert Deiters, the informative tour of the D-ABMP also reveals the history behind a seemingly unconventional protective measure at the rear of the plane, the so-called “tailshoe”.

A Pusher‘s Life – the driving force before takeoff

As viewers have come to expect from PilotsEYE.tv productions, the 90-min film also prominently features a rather different perspective on the fascination of aviation: as a Munich Airport pushback driver lays the “groundwork” for a successful takeoff. Gerhard Ruhland has, literally, led a moving life. An employee of Munich Airport for over 25 years, Gerhard pushes and pulls airplanes of up to 550 tons around the runway apron, takes care of supplies and deliveries, and presents PilotsEYE.tv with a few uniquely interesting – and for passengers normally inaccessible – perspectives of “his” planes. For who really knows what happens below the plane during cast-off?

From Cradle to the Cockpit – a Captain’s tale

When a father takes his son up on flights ever since before he could crawl, and the fascination of flight remains with the son until he grows up to be pilot, the term “formative childhood experience” comes to mind. Cpt. Florian Deiters tells of his very own path into the pilot’s seat, from his first flight in a baby carrier on the backseat of his father’s Cessna, to his first “command” of a glider plane, to his by now 15.000 hours on the stick. “Once you’ve caught that aviation bug, it just won’t let go…“

Keeping trim – an Autopilot’s burden

„Should a lot of passengers suddenly feel the urge to use the restrooms, it’s the autopilot that feels it the most. The stronger the trim, the worse the food”, joke the pilots when talking about maintaining flight attitude. To minimize the strain on the flaps, the autopilot continuously adjusts the position of the whole wing. And in a quite charming anachronism, on a 737-800NG that is still an analog process – with a pulley. It’s the story of the „Trim Tab Wheel“ and the weight-watching Autopilot.

The Flight Path – Hurghada and back again

Munich (de) – St. Johann (at) – Villach – Ljubljana (si) – Mostar (ba) – Dubrovnik (hr) – Ioannina (gr) – Crete – al-Fayyūm (ec) – Hurghada (ec) – Cairo – Rhodes (gr) – Kraljevo (s) – Maribor (si) – Graz (at) Salzburg – Munich (de)

Limited Access – Approaching difficulties

Airports are categorized by levels of difficulty. On a category C airport, only selected pilots are allowed to land, having received special training to deal with adverse conditions like tight turns during the approach phase. Which airports besides Funchal and Sarajevo also made the list of “special requirements” tells copilot Michail Tounas.

Phased out! A detailed goodbye to the Boeing 737

It’s a common occurrence to see an airline, like it is currently happening at Germania, phase a specific airplane model or even manufacturer out of their fleet.

Due to well-known budget cuts at Airberlin, the German airline is gradually retiring their complete Boeing fleet to be replaced by Airbus machines – partly taken from sister company Alitalia – by the end of the year. Having by now already transitioned to fly in A320s, both pilots used the film – shot one year ago – to reminisce on some of the charming quirks and characteristics of a true “classic of the skies”, affectionately called the “Bobby”, the one and only Boeing 737.

A sales slip for a flight plan

What at first glance might look like a sales slip snaking languidly out of the thermo-printer is actually the flight-plan for the return trip. With the plane still one hour out of Egypt’s Hurgharda, the cockpit already receives the most vital data for their subsequent flight back home. What factors the flight plan takes into account, and why it is cheaper, for example, to bring along additional fuel instead filling up at their destination, explains Cpt. Deiters.

Technical Treats – 4 bonus features only on Disc

Bonus I – A Pusher`s Life – the driving force before takeoff
Bonus II – Airport Neighbors love the GLS Precision Approach System
Bonus III – Tension on board – the Overhead Panel
Bonus IV – Electric Light Orchestra – How many pilots does it take to screw in a bulb?

Two Pilots, one commentary

Episode 17 marks a first in PilotsEYE.tv history, as both pilots had the opportunity to watch and comment on the film together, reminiscing with private anecdotes on certain scenes and providing background information on the shown procedures. The glee of looking over their own shoulders is more than evident, and the leisurely, humorous tone of the commentary a great incentive to watch the film once more with Audio-Track 2. All that information could hardly be more entertaining.

The PEFB – Full PDF disclosure for aviation enthusiasts

For all aviation fans and enthusiasts eager to learn more about their passion, PilotsEYE.tv offers all relevant – including several handwritten – flight documents as a free download. Starting with detailed reports, operational flight plans and weather charts, to the vital radio calls and the flight path – the „PilotsEYE Flight Briefing” is available as PDF @ http://PilotsEYE.tv/downloads

PilotsEYE.tv. makes you happy

“According to an American study, curiosity leads to creativity which in turn triggers a sensation of pleasure in the brain”, says AignerMEDIA CEO Thomas Aigner, quoting creativity researcher George Land. “If we can satisfy our audience’s curiosity, we’ll happily share in their pleasure. We had those feeling during the whole time of the shoot.

For the Vocal Audience – 737 Callouts – Remastered

Connoisseurs of automated Cockpit-voices can enjoy a completely remastered selection of the 737’s “aural warnings”, available in the Downloads section.

(Pilots)EYE-catching – Eleven Wallpapers for free

Continuing a standing PilotsEYE.tv tradition, this newest episode is accompanied by another selection of 11 new, custom-made screenshots from the film as computer wallpapers. Ready as a free download in 1024, 1080, 1920 and 2560 resolutions



DVD:    EAN 4260139480272  ISBN 978-3-943781-27-4  ASIN B01A10OXK6
BD:      EAN 4260139480371  ISBN 978-3-943781-37-3  ASIN B01A10OXGK

: ENGLISCH • GERMAN • FRENCH • SPANISH •  (CHINESE – Video on Demand only)
VIDEOFORMAT: DVD – 576i50 (PAL) | Blu-ray 1080p24 MPEG4
SPECIAL: Autolooping of mainfeature

Flight data & Crew

  • Flight no.: AB2932
  • Aircraft: Boeing 737-800NG
  • Run time: 110
  • Captain |
    Florian Deiters
  • First Officer |
    Michail Tounas





A Pusher’s life – the driving force before takeoff

From cradle to the cockpit – a Captain’s tale

Restricted access – challenging Airports

Keeping trim – an autopilot’s burden

Boeing 737-800 facelift facts

A sales slip for a flight plan

Safer flying with a shoe on your tail

Electronic Flightbag – free download

4x Bonus delights – technical insights for Fans

A PilotsEYE Premiere – both pilots, one commentary

PilotsEYE.tv

Hurghada B737

Good Bye, Boeing! - Ausgeflottet

Flugbeschreibung

PilotsEYE.tv zeigt in Folge 17 “Good Bye, Boeing – Ausge­flottet”
einen der letzten Flüge mit einer Boeing 737 der airberlin nach Ägypten ans rote Meer.

Die legendäre Boeing 737 ist das meistgebaute kommerzielle Flugzeugmodell der Welt. Seit ihrem Erstflug 1967, wurden bis heute fast 9000 Exemplare hergestellt, die zahllose Passagiere auf ihren Flügeln durch die Lüfte trugen. Doch in einigen deutschen Airlines kündigt sich nun für die 737 der wohlverdiente Ruhestand an.

Aus Gründen der Effizienz wird airberlin die vor zwei Jahren begonnene Ausmusterung der Boeing-Flotte mit Ende des Jahres abgeschlossen haben und in Zukunft nur noch mit Airbus-Flugzeugen operieren.

PilotsEYE.tv hatte die Gelegenheit, einen der letzten 737 Flüge ins sonnige Ägypten zu begleiten.

Erstmals gemeinsam kommentiert von beiden Piloten, bietet Episode 17 die Möglichkeit, einen kompletten Umlauf von München in den führenden Badeort am roten Meer hautnah mitzuerleben. Aus der Sicht des Jumpseats im Cockpit, inklusive vieler technischer Details und ganz persönlicher Geschichten.

Für die Filmemacher eine nicht zu verachtende Herausforderung, im verhältnismäßig kleinen Cockpit der B737 zu filmen, denn noch nie wurde auf so geringem Platz mit 10 Kameras gleichzeitig gedreht.

Zwei Profis nehmen Abschied

Dem Anlass angemessen, treffen sich die beiden Piloten CPT Florian Deiters und F/O Michail Tounas am Vorabend des Fluges im Münchner Hangar, um sich ihre 737-800NG noch einmal aus der Nähe anzusehen. Bei dem detaillierten Rundgang um die D-ABMP erörtert der 737-Experte Deiters unter anderem auch die Entstehungsgeschichte des am Hinterteil angebrachten “Schuhs“, dem sogenannten “Tailshoe“.

 A Pusher‘s Life – die treibende Kraft am Boden

In gewohnter Manier zeigt der 90-minütige Film – neben dem Cockpit – das Fluggeschehen aus seltener Perspektive. Diesmal vom “Boden der Tatsachen“, aus der Sicht eines Pushback-Fahrers am Münchener Flughafen.

Gerhard Ruhland hat in der Tat eine bewegende Vergangenheit. Seit 25 Jahren schiebt und zieht er Flugzeuge mit bis zu 560 Tonnen über das Vorfeld, macht Bereitstellungen und zeigt für PilotsEYE.tv manch interessante – für Passagiere verborgene – Ansichten der Flugzeuge. Wer weiß schon, was unter dem Flugzeug während des Ablegens vom Gate wirklich passiert?

Karriereleiter – von der Wiege bis ins Cockpit

Wenn der Vater den Sohn bereits im Babyalter in seiner Cessna mitnimmt und die “Faszination Fliegen” den Sohn und heutigen Piloten nie wieder loslässt, kann man wohl von einer “einschneidenden Prägung in der Kindheit” sprechen. Kapitän Florian Deiters skizziert seinen Weg ins Cockpit, von seinem Jungfernflug in der Babytasche auf dem Rücksitz über den ersten Segelflug bis zu seinen heute 15.000 Flugstunden. Denn
“wer einmal vom Fliegervirus infiziert ist…“

 Je schlechter das Essen, desto mehr Trim

„Wenn viele Passagiere plötzlich auf die Toilette gehen, hat der Autopilot eine Menge zu tun“, erzählen die Piloten beim Thema der richtigen Fluglage. Um den Druck auf die Flügelklappen gering zu halten, verändert der Autopilot permanent die Position des gesamten Flügels. Und dies geschieht bei der 737 noch immer analog – mittels Seilzug. Die Geschichte vom Trimrad, mit dem der Autopilot auf seine Linie schaut.

 Die Route nach Hurghada

München (de) – St. Johann (at) – Villach – Lubljana (si) – Mostar (ba) – Dubrovnik (hr) – Ioannina (gr) – Kreta – al Fayyum (eg) – Hurghada (eg) – Kairo – Rhodos (gr) – Kraljevo (se) – Maribor (si) – Graz (at) Salzburg – München (de)

Ausgesucht – Wo selbst Piloten ins Schwitzen geraten

Flughäfen werden in Schwierigkeitsgrade eingeteilt. Auf Lande­bahnen der Klasse C dürfen nur speziell ausgebildete Piloten landen, die auf die widrigen Umstände, wie zum Beispiel enge Kurven am Final Approach, entsprechend vorbereitet sind. Welche Flug­häfen neben Funchal und Sarajevo dazugehören, verrät der Copilot.

Ausgeflottet – Wo selbst Piloten melancholisch werden

Immer wieder entscheiden Fluglinien, wie ganz aktuell Germania, ein bestimmtes Modell oder einen ganzen Hersteller aus der Flotte auszumustern.

Airberlin stellt aufgrund der bekannten Sparmaßnahmen bis Ende des Jahres die gesamte Boeing Flotte Schritt für Schritt, teilweise mit Flugzeugen des Partners Alitalia, auf Airbus um. Die beiden Piloten des Filmes, die heute bereits beide auf der A320 fliegen, erinnern sich – in dem vor einem Jahr gedrehten Film – an die interessantesten Details und charmanten Eigenheiten des in Fliegerkreisen “Bobby” genannten “Klassikers der Lüfte“.

 Ausgedruckt – Dieser Kassenbon ist ein Flugplan

Was auf den ersten Blick wie ein Einkaufszettel aussieht und gemächlich aus dem Thermodrucker in der Mittelkonsole kommt, ist tatsächlich der Flugplan für den Rückflug. Bereits eine Stunde vor der Landung in Ägypten erhält das Cockpit die wichtigsten Daten für ihren anschließenden Flug nach Hause. Welche Faktoren den Flugplan beeinflussen und warum es zum Beispiel billiger ist, mehr Sprit von zu Hause aus mitzunehmen, als vor Ort zu tanken, erklärt der Kapitän.

Technische Leckerbissen – 4 Bonusteile nur auf Disc

Bonus I – A Pusher`s Life – die treibende Kraft am Boden
Bonus II – Anwohner lieben das GLS Präzisions-Anflugverfahren
Bonus III – Spannung an Board – das Overheadpanel
Bonus IV – Electric Light Orchestra – Die Kraft der zwei Birnen

Zwei Piloten – ein Kommentar

Erstmals konnten sich beide Piloten den fertigen Film vorab ansehen und gleichzeitig kommentieren. Dabei erinnern sie sich an persönliche Erlebnisse zu den Szenen und geben Back­ground­informationen zu den Prozeduren. Die Freude, sich bei ihrer eigenen Arbeit mal über die Schulter zu blicken, ist den beiden förmlich anzumerken und die lockere Art des Kommentars ein guter Grund, sich den Film ein weiteres Mal mit Tonspur 2 anzusehen. Unterhaltender kann soviel Information kaum sein.

Das PEFB – Alle Originalunterlagen als PDF

Allen Fans und Fluginteressierten, die noch tiefer ins Thema einsteigen wollen, bietet PilotsEYE.tv alle relevanten, teilweise auch handschriftlichen Dokumente des Fluges als kostenlosen Download. Von detaillierten Basisinformationen, über den Flugplan bis zur Wetterkarte, den wichtigsten Funksprüchen und der Flugroute – das “PilotsEYE Flight Briefing” gibt es hier als PDF: http://PilotsEYE.tv/downloads

 PilotsEYE.tv. kann glücklich machen

“Gemäss einer US-Studie macht Neugier kreativ und löst im Gehirn echte Glücksgefühle aus” zitiert Thomas Aigner, Geschäftsführer von AignerMEDIA, den Kreativitätsforscher George Land. “Wenn es uns gelingt, die Neugier unserer Zuschauer zu befriedigen, freuen wir uns auch über deren Glücksgefühle. Wir hatten sie während der Dreharbeiten immer wieder.”

Schön tapeziert – Eleven Wallpapers for free

In der Tradition der PilotsEYE.tv-Serie gibt es auch diesmal wieder elf neue, speziell für den Computerbildschirm bearbeitete Bilder aus dem Film. Die “Wallpapers” können kostenlos in folgenden Auflösungen heruntergeladen werden: 1024, 1080, 1920, 2560.

Motive: DRIVINGFORCE – DARE2OPEN – HOOKED – NITECAP REDPAINTS – ROSENHEIM – SMALLMISHAP – COTTONING – EROGENOUSZONE – GROSSGLOCKNER – GOODBYE

http://pilotseye.tv/downloads-wallpaper/

Schöner gesprochen – 737 Callouts – Remastered

Für Liebhaber der Cockpitstimme finden sich die wichtigsten “Aural Warnings neu abgemischt, ebenfalls im Downloadbereich.

DVD:    EAN 4260139480272 ISBN 978-3-943781-27-4 ASIN B01A10OXK6
BD:      EAN 4260139480371 ISBN 978-3-943781-37-3 ASIN B01A10OXGK

UNTERTITEL
: ENGLISCH • DEUTSCH • FRANZÖSISCH • SPANISCH (Nur Video on Demand: CHINESISCH)
REGION: WELTWEIT (Keine Beschränkungen)
VIDEOFORMAT: DVD – 576i50 (PAL) | Blu-ray 1080p24 MPEG4
SPECIAL: Autoloop – Film wiederholt sich automatisch

Flugdaten & Crew

  • Flug-Nr.: AB2932
  • Flugzeug: Boeing 737-800NG
  • Laufzeit: 110
  • Captain |
    Florian Deiters
  • First Officer |
    Michail Tounas

Shop

Untertitel

DE, EN, ES, FR

Highlights

A Pusher’s life – ein bewegendes Leben am Airport

Class C Airports – wo selbst Piloten schwitzen

Je schlechter das Essen – desto mehr Trim

Flightbag – Alle Unterlagen zum Nachlesen

Dieser Schuh sitzt am Hinterteil

Ein Kassenbon als Flugplan

4 Bonusteile – Boeing 737-Technik für Fans

Karriereleiter – von der Wiege bis ins Cockpit

Premiere – Beide Piloten auf der Kommentarspur

Ausgeflottet – Abschied von der Boeing 737 Familie

Bilder

Bilder